Hello world!

Well this is a learning curve and no mistake! I went on a splendid conference last week on Self-Publishing at Kingston University run by my friend and co-author Alison Baverstock in which everyone kept urging us all to blog – so here I am.

Finding my way around all the controls will take some time no doubt, and for a while this will be a poorly looking little beastie but I have every faith that it will soon develop and grow into something to be proud of. See I’m like a parent myself.

During the tube trike yesterday morning I found myself walking from Liverpool St. station to Waterloo on my way home after my weekly visit to my Mum. It’s always interesting on a work day morning to see who is out and about and to guess what brings people to certain places. Of course, along the South Bank there are so many nice places to sit, to visit or to  explore even on a rainy Tuesday morning that it’s no surprise to see people of all ages milling about. I was particularly drawn a sculptor working on the riverbank creating what appeared to be a cheetah out of plaster and wire with a small canopy erected over his work to protect it from the weather. He had a couple of assistants holding buckets and mixing things whilst he stood on a ladder blobbing  plaster  (at least it looked like a plaster) over the frame.  behind me was the Globe Theatre, in front of me the river and I was struck as I always am in that little stretch of London at how fascinating the city can be without  needing to have any money in your pocket  for and interesting day out.

I know myself how the recession is biting but it seemed to me that for the price of a family Railcard anyone could have a fascinating day out along this stretch of the Thames  with boats and buildings, galleries and art works taking shape before your eyes, bridges and lanes,  performance artists and music everywhere. Pack a few sandwiches, some apples to munch and for relatively little money you have an excellent day out to share with the family.

Of course there was plenty to spend money on if you have it with lots of cafes and restaurants as well as many ‘entry fee’ attractions but I managed to get from one end to the other without spending a penny and for two hours  I was happily engrossed in all that was going on around me. I even learned a few new things from reading some plaques along the way.

Close to the Tate Modern I was drawn to a father with his  toddler son.  I’m not brilliant at  guessing ages but this little lad could not have been any older than two. he was dressed in the latest toddler fashion in jeans and hoody  just like  his Dad and he was happily running around on the damp grey pavement whilst Dad hovered arms outstretched close by.  he suddenly came upon a step-a perfectly ordinary grey step, the type you and I probably walk up and down 100 times a day when we are out and about and never notice. This little boy stopped in his tracks, his whole attention riveted on this step like Hillary gazing at Everest and suddenly I was transported back in time so clearly. I remembered how it was to be a small child facing steps and what an enormous challenge they posed, and how daring and dangerous getting up on them seemed. I could almost hear this little boy’s brain whirring as he tried to work out how he could get up on this step on his two feet. At one point he reached down and hand to help him climb but thought better of it. Then he tried to go sideways but the balance was too tricky. His father, seeing his dilemma, reached down a hand to hold for support and the little boy grasped it tightly. Without once looking at his father he climbed that great big step and immediately let go to toddle off again. A beautiful lesson in the role of a parent, providing support when it is most needed without the need for acknowledgement. But also a lesson in the importance of a parent, helping the child to stand on their own two feet and to let go without looking back.

TODDLER RUNNING ON GREEN GRASS
© Richard Thorp | Dreamstime.com

3 comments

  1. Wise words as always, Gill. Often our best memeoires are made up of the little things, espcially when you’re a child. Looking forrward to future installments.

Leave a Reply

